Temtrol Wins Manufacturing Leadership Award

Oct 8 2015

Eden Prairie, MN (October 8, 2015) — Nortek Air Solutions congratulates the team of dedicated employees behind its Temtrol® brand of custom air handlers on winning the Oklahoma Governor’s Manufacturing Leadership Award as presented by the Oklahoma Manufacturing Alliance. Governor Mary Fallin presented the award to Temtrol General Manager Andrew Halko at a ceremony on October 7th in Norman.

Each year, the Oklahoma governor recognizes companies located in the state for achievements in innovative and successful manufacturing practices. An awards committee made up of manufacturing professionals selects the winners from a list of nominees. As a winner of this award, Temtrol was praised for demonstrating progressive, forward-thinking and a willingness to adapt to change to become more prosperous in their marketplace. “Temtrol represents the significant manufacturing potential available in Oklahoma and takes a leadership role in promoting the importance of doing business in and from the state,” said Governor Fallin.

A video produced for the awards ceremony by the Oklahoma Manufacturing Alliance highlights the reasons why Temtrol was chosen for this award and how it has worked with the Alliance as its business has grown.

Today Temtrol is still located in the city of Okarche, Oklahoma, where it was incorporated on August 12, 1955 by Ambrose Keyser, a mechanical engineer with experience in commercial air conditioning equipment design and manufacturing. In 1985 Temtrol was acquired by Nortek, Inc., and became a member of what is today the Nortek Air Solutions family of custom and commercial air conditioning brands.

Temtrol continued to grow by incorporating technology innovations for their customers, most importantly the patented FANWALL TECHNOLOGY®, available exclusively from all Nortek Air Solutions air handler brands. Today 400 employees work in the 300,000-square foot office and production facility located across the road from the original factory site.

“On behalf of all our dedicated Temtrol employees, I am proud to accept this award,” said Andrew Halko. “Their experience and loyalty is key to the quality of the products manufactured by Temtrol. Our employees follow Lean Manufacturing and 5S best practices and processes help us maintain our commitment to quality that exceeds our customers’ expectations.”

Mark DeVincent, president of Nortek Air Solutions, congratulated Temtrol, saying, “Temtrol is a valuable brand of Nortek Air Solutions, recognized in our industry as a premier provider of custom air handlers. The entire Nortek Air Solutions organization congratulates Temtrol for winning this award.”

Today Temtrol is positioned for future growth after recently completing an expansion of its production facility space by 75,000 square feet, for improved process flow, increased capacity, plus dedicated areas for testing and warehousing. The Temtrol product line includes not only custom air handlers but also packaged air handlers, knockdown air handlers, fan retrofit systems, as well as OEM and replacement coils. In addition, the company is a member of AHRI and manufactures its own coils with AHRI Certified™ performance.

Temtrol equipment is installed in prestigious buildings across North America including the U.S. Pentagon, the White House Situation Room, Dallas-Fort Worth Airport, Lucas Oil (Indianapolis Colts) Stadium, Parkland Hospital, Sandia National Laboratories, Georgia Tech University, Mayo Clinic, Boeing, Apple, MetLife Building in New York City, and the MGM Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas; to name just a few.

About Nortek and Nortek Air Solutions
Nortek Air Solutions, LLC is a subsidiary of Nortek, Inc. (NASDAQ: NTK), a global, diversified company whose many market-leading brands deliver broad capabilities and a wide array of innovative, technology-driven products and solutions for lifestyle improvement at home and at work. Please visit http://www.nortek.com for more information.



Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin presents Temtrol General Manager Andrew Halko with the Manufacturing Leadership Award from the Oklahoma Manufacturing Alliance. Pictured from left to right are Brandon Lam and John Habel, both of Temtrol; Dave Rowland, President of the Oklahoma Manufacturing Alliance; Mr. Halko; Vance Baustert of Temtrol; Governor Fallin; Jerry James of Temtrol; Mike Raymond, Manufacturing Extension Agent for the Alliance and Kevin Flynn of Temtrol.